Cheap Trick – Bang Zoom Crazy… Hello (2016)


Occasionally there is critical blowback regarding acts chosen — or even nominated — to enter the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. It’s safe to say though that is nearly impossible concerning Cheap Trick’s 2016 induction. The original Rockford, Illinois quartet has been consistently grinding out their hardnosed rock, power pop and punky psychedelia since around 1975. And even if founding drummer Bun E. Carlos isn’t aboard for the first time on this, the band’s 17th release (replaced by guitarist Rick Nielsen’s son Daxx), Bang Zoom Crazy … Hello is another solid entry into a catalog that began with their somewhat inauspicious 1977 debut. 

320 kbps | 105 MB | UL | BF | TB

The Crane Wives – Foxlore (2016)

ZFoxlore is the coming-of-age story of The Crane Wives,” vocalist/guitarist Kate Pillsbury told Revue as way of introduction to the Grand Rapids band’s new LP. “We wrote the songs at a time when we were still bumbling through our lives a bit. So much has happened to us between the writing of these songs and the consequent recordings.”

“The stretch between the release of Coyote Stories and the release of Foxlore has been the hardest, most tumultuous time in my life,” Pillsbury said, explaining how last November her boyfriend was injured in a motorcycle accident that left him paralyzed from the waist down. “Releasing Foxlore feels a little bit like a grand celebration after a heart-wrenching period in my life.”

320 kbps | 105 MB | UL | BF | TB | OB

Brian Eno – The Ship (2016)


The Ship is Eno’s first solo record since 2012’s Grammy-nominated LUX. Originally conceived from experiments with three dimensional recording techniques and formed in two, interconnected parts, The Ship is almost as much musical novel as traditional album. Eno brings together beautiful songs, minimalist ambience, physical electronics omniscient narratives and technical innovation into a single, cinematic suite. The result is the very best of Eno, a record without parallel in his catalogue.

320 kbps | 108 MB | UL | BF | TB | OB

Robbie Fulks – Upland Stories (2016)

Robbie Fulks will release his ninth album Upland Stories on April 1 2016 (Bloodshot Records). The album is his first since the excellent Gone Away Backward in 2013.Fulks has always been a rich and resounding singer and a writer with more than average insight and humour. Upland Stories continues the trend, with plenty of philosophy and mindfulness as he explores novelist James Agee and his trek to Alabama in 1936 which led to his book Let Us Now Praise Famous Men. The album also features stories around the “upland” parts of Virginia and North Carolina (where Fulks grew up).

320 kbps | 105 MB | UL |