Jen Cloher – In Blood Memory (2013)

JENIn Blood Memory is the latest recorded offering from somewhat reclusive Melbournian singer-songwriter Jen Cloher. In Blood Memory is a collection of songs that seem to call from that primal place where the best music and art is made. Evanescent, ill-defined, dreamily visceral, cloudy. It is the hazy place of The Velvet Underground, Bitches Brew, one-chord blues, Mark Rothko’s blur-edged canvases.
It is also very very beautiful, with a beauty that is just beyond your grasp, and far far beyond language.
A song such as ‘Name In Lights’, the album’s second track, swings between angular rock and roll (with a nicely smacked-out ‘Wild Thing’ garage breakdown in the middle) and a frenzied ending, the band almost drowning Cloher’s “There’s nothing I can do” refrain in dervish-like intensity. This coda brings to mind that of the Beatles’.

mp3 320 kbps | 82 MB | UL | CL

Kimmie Rhodes – Windblown (2004)

kiWindblown, featuring all new original songs by Kimmie, paints a poignant picture in song of a young woman who has exiled herself to the wilderness of the Texas Big Bend in a struggle to escape the sorrows of her bordertown life and the bad choices she has made. With exceptional performances by legendary players like Lloyd Maines, John Gardner, Richard Bowden, and Gabe Rhodes, this CD takes us back to Kimmie’s West Texas roots to explore the drama of love and death on the border. Windblown also serves as the soundtrack to a new Kimmie Rhodes performance art piece, a stage production featuring interpretive dance performed to live music with award-winning actor Joe Sears serving as narrator for the story and playing a variety of legendary “spirits of the desert”. The world premier was January 21st, 2005. Produced by Gabe Rhodes, Windblown explores more of the rich world of Kimmie’s lyrical, musical, and now dramatic vision.

Kimmie Rhodes – vocals & acoustic guitar
Joe Gracey – rhythm guitar
John Gardner – drums & percussion
Lloyd Maines – dobro & steel guitar
Richard Bowden – violin, viola & mandolin
David Carroll – upright bass
Gabe Rhodes – electric, classical, bass & acoustic guitars, melody bells, glass harp, theramin, harmonium, piano, percussion, toy accordion, melodica

mp3 192 kbps | 54 MB | UL | CL

Gentle Giant – Memories Of Old Days [5CD Box Set] (2013)

geIt’s never too much for ol’ good Gentle Giant. Especially if you are a collector and die-hard fan of progressive rock and the band. ”Memories of Old Days” is a compendium of curios, bootlegs, live tracks, rehearsals and demos 1975-1980, it is an alternative anthology covering the whole of the band’s time with Chrysalis Records.

This set also features a whole concert rehearsal from 1977, a BBC In Concert from 1978, available on CD for the first time, and ends with two highly collectible live recordings from their final US tour in 1980, including their last ever recorded gig at the Roxy in Los Angeles”.

mp3 320 kbps | 889 MB | UL | TB

The Invisible Hands – The Invisible Hands [Deluxe Edition] (2013)

INVThe Invisible Hands is the English translation of the band’s original Egyptian Arabic name: El Ayadi El Khafeyya. Taking almost two years to create amidst an unusual and challenging backdrop, this is the brand new project of Alvarius B. (Alan Bishop of Sun City Girls). Eleven highly crafted new songs projected through his typically dark lens of songwriting and a band of brilliant musicians from Cairo, the premier, self-titled CD version of this album is the English language vocals edition (see below) delivered in AB’s patented sinister style; drenched in lovely psychedelic folk arrangements and vocal choruses with a nod to what could have potentially been an album that surfaced decades ago but instead found its way into the future superimposed over historic and tumultuous times in the center of the Arab world. The group was established during the summer of 2011 and the album was recorded in Cairo in May of 2012. Band members include Cherif El Masri and Aya Hemeda (both former members of popular Egyptian group Eskenderella) with drummer Magued Nagati. On a handful of songs, several other players from the Cairo scene are featured including Sam Shalabi (Shalabi Effect/Land of Kush) on oud and Mohamed Medhat on violin and viola. All tracks written and sung by Alvarius B. in English.

mp3 320 kbps | 111 MB | UL | CL

Johnny Cash & Willie Nelson – Every Song Tells A Story (2013)

joThis is a compilation of tracks Willie Nelson and Johnny Cash did for the duo’s 1998 VH1 Storytellers appearance in 1998, along with their corresponding tracks on the first Highwaymen album from 1985, with one previously unreleased track, “The Human Condition,” from the Highwaymen sessions added as a bonus. There’s not a lot new here, but it’s a warm set from a pair of country legends that is well worth having.


01. Folsom Prison Blues (Johnny Cash)
02. Medley: Funny How Time Slips Away/Crazy/Night Life (Willie Nelson)
03. Don t Take Your Guns To Town (Johnny Cash)
04. Family Bible (Willie Nelson)
05. I Still Miss Someone (Johnny Cash)
06. Me And Paul (Willie Nelson)
07. Flesh And Blood (Johnny Cash)
08. Always On My Mind (Willie Nelson)
09. (Ghost) Riders In The Sky (Johnny Cash)
10. On The Road Again (Willie Nelson)
11. Deportee (Plane Wreck At Los Gatos)(From “The Highwaymen” sessions)
12. Jim, I Wore A Tie Today (From “The Highwaymen” sessions)
13. Committed To Parkview (From “The Highwaymen” sessions)
14. The Twentieth Century Is Almost Over (From “The Highwaymen” sessions)
15. The Human Condition (From “The Highwaymen” sessions)

mp3 320 kbps | 127 MB | UL | CL