Thundercat – Apocalypse (2013)

thForever a wildcat and wild card, Los Angeles’ bassist/songwriter/vocalist Stephen Bruner, aka Thundercat, is impossible to tame artistically. A true master of his craft, he can be found playing bass with Flying Lotus, Erykah Badu and Suicidal Tendencies, in the same breath as performing live with the likes of Stanley Clarke, Snoop Dogg or the Red Hot Chili Peppers. His 2011 solo debut (The Golden Age of Apocalypse, co-produced by Flying Lotus) created an equally genre-blurring enigma of indie rock and jazz, with a touch of electronica.
On his second album, Apocalypse, Thundercat pairs up with executive producer Flying Lotus to pull the veil back and reveal the simple truths of the cycle of life, for all its beauty and destruction. An album about loss and rebuilding, trying to gain something back, and capturing that moment of clarity where one finally finds feet back on the ground again. Bringing a fusion of pop, soul, electronica, prog rock and funk into an unexplored dimension, the album slowly descends and tunnels to the core of what it takes to grasp peace, at a time that it seems most far.

mp3 320 kbps | 76 MB | UL

Salvia Plath – The Bardo Story (2013)

SAMichael Collins (once under the guise of Run DMT, now known as Salvia Plath) couldn’t have timed his release of The Bardo Story any better. It’s a record that deserves to be heard – and sounds like it was conceived – at the height of summer. With a vibe that drifts dreamily back to the 1960s, and nestles somewhere between The Beatles and The Byrds, The Bardo Story’s sound is truly psychedelic – and endlessly catchy.

FLAC | 157 MB | UL | CL

Mice Parade – Candela (2013)

MICandela is the stunning new full-length from Mice Parade, a bright and vivd LP that omnivorously references source material from across the globe and rebuilds it all into the distinctive, inimitable voice that Mice Parade has come to represent. Generally regarded as the solo project of New York’s Adam Pierce – though Pierce often engages carefully-selected guest musicians for each new release – Mice Parade is now in its second decade: musically developing, its personnel expanding and shrinking, and its influences and marker points becoming increasingly varied and widespread. Candela is the seventh album to bear the Mice Parade name, and marks an exciting new stop-off in the band’s already musically greedy history.
Though Candela is named after a late-night bar in Madrid (known as a flamenco guitar players’ Mecca) with a colourful history, it will come as no surprise to followers of the band that Adam Pierce is a formally schooled ethnomusicologist. Previous Mice Parade palettes have conscientiously borrowed elements of sound from West African Highlife, Brazilian Jazz, Eastern chord patterns and scales, Latin percussive timbres and rhythms, among countless other unexpected sources. It is all indelibly bound together as the band’s personality and magnetism: each new release runs like a personal, geographical study of Pierce’s voluminous knowledge of music from across the world and his enthusiasm for unusual sounds and virtuoso performing. We have read – in notes for earlier releases – references to Bola Sete, Paco de Lucia, Tsegue-Maryam Guebrou, Brian Eno, Buddy Rich, Can, My Bloody Valentine alongside innumerable further names.

FLAC | 260 MB | UL | TB

Bill Price – Strong (2013)

bStrong, Billy Price’s first studio recording since 2009, features Billy and the Billy Price Band along with special guests Monster Mike Welch, Fred Chapellier, and Mark Wenner and Mark Stutso of the Nighthawks.


01 Drivin’ wheel
02 Can’t leave it alone
03 Sweet soul music
04 Gotta be strong
05 The lucky one
06 Let’s go for a ride
07 Never get enough
08 Diggin’ a hole
09 Part time love
10 I’ve got love on my mind

mp3 160 kbps | 99 MB   | UL | CL

Diunna Greenleaf – Trying To Hold On (2011)

diuSophomore albums are always difficult – even more so when your debut was a critical or commercial success. Diunna Greenleaf came to prominence after winning the International Blues Challenge in 2005 and subsequently receiving a Blues Music Award for “Best New Artist Debut” in 2008 for her Cotton Field To Coffee House album. Since then, she’s been nominated for BMAs in the “Traditional Blues Female” category and taken advantage of expanded touring opportunities, performing not only across the U.S. but at major European festivals. Now, following a live album, she’s released her second studio recording, titled Trying To Hold On.
For the most part, the new disc stands up nicely alongside its predecessor. Greenleaf is first and foremost a singer, belting out blues in the fiery, hollering style of Koko Taylor. But Trying To Hold On shows that she’s also a very capable songwriter, able to hew to the genre’s traditions while revealing her own writing voice. Some of the songs here hold up favorably against any recorded this year.
One of the best is “Sunny Day Friends,” an electric blues with swinging sax from Ron Jones and biting guitar by Anson Funderburgh, who produced three tracks on the album. The lyrical theme echoes that of the blues standard “Grinnin’ In Your Face” (popularized by Son House) in its put-down of people who stand by you in good times but run during the bad. Also at the top of Greenleaf’s songwriting heap is “Taking Chances,” a slow shuffle featuring Smokin’ Joe Kubek on guitar. Greenleaf reportedly wrote the song – about the importance of jumping confidently into a love affair – for Kubek when he was dating the woman who eventually became his wife. It showcases Greenleaf’s ability to take a simple lyrical idea and weave an entire song around it.

FLAC | 374 MB | UL | TB

Six By Seven – Love And Peace And Sympathy (2013)

SIXSix by Seven  are a Nottingham-based indie rock band who originally consisted of Chris Olley on vocals and guitars, James Flower on keyboards, Sam Hempton on guitar, Paul Douglas on bass and Chris Davis on drums. Exponents of building, atmospheric drone-rock, influenced heavily by bands such as My Bloody Valentine and Spacemen 3 they found a niche in the industry with a considerable underground following, but despite some attempts to commercialise their sound, this never crossed over into mainstream success. After splitting up in 2008, the band reformed in 2012.

mp3 320 kbps | 124 MB | UL | CL

LZ Love & Lightning Red – Blues Family (2013)


1. Stand For Something
2. Let The Spirit
3. Dancin’ With The Blues
4. Big Time
5. Change Is Gonna Come
6. Cavern Crawl
7. Don’t Have To Worry
8. Got The Power
9. South Austin Shuffle
10. Hard To Have The Blues
11. Been Lonely
12. Devil In You
13. Backyard Boogie
14. Shoulda Listened
15. Trials

mp3 320 kbps | 158 MB | UL | TB | CL