Robert Pollard – Honey Locust Honky Tonk (2013)

RONew album from the prolific singer/songwriter and Guided By Voices mainman. Honey Locust Honky Tonk is a compact wonder and so varied, tuneful, graceful, magnificent and ebullient that one will be forgiven for thinking that Robert Pollard has saved his best for his own album. Slicker in some ways than recent Guided By Voices efforts, though not without its own down-home charm, its 17 songs whiz by in 34 minutes, stridently showcasing Pollard’s songwriting mastery with some of the best tunes he’s ever penned. The longest, the semi-stately album closer ‘Airs,’ clocks in at just over three and a half minutes, but most are in the two- or two-and-half-minute range typical of Pollard’s attenuating genius. In truth, Pollard never holds anything back, and always seems uncannily able to pull any number of music tricks from his magic sleeve. He’s done it again, folks. Honey Locust Honky Tonk is as sweet and as sharp as anything Pollard and friends has ever produced.

mp3 VBR~257 kbps | 69 MB | UL | CL

Eastbound Jesus – Northern Rock (2013)

estEastbound Jesus define themselves with the release of their third album in as many years. Northern Rock not only gives rise to the sextet’s own sound, but perhaps defines something that had previously been elusive – a sub-genre of music pumping out of the northern region of this country.  It’s something a kin to southern rock, but not quite; Northern Rock encompasses a variety of musical elements from rock to alternative country to folk-like story telling lyrics neatly packaged within each strategically placed song for an album that redefines the boundaries of Americana in the north.

mp3 160 kbps | 60 MB | UL |CL

The Fleeting Ends – Our Eyes Are Peeled (2013)

flePhilly-based rock band with a knack for catchy and unique songwriting. With influences spanning from XTC and the Cars to the Pixies and Blur, The Fleeting Ends exploit its roots while still putting its own touch on there catalogue of music.

Matt Vantine: Vocals, Guitars, Piano, Keys, Mandolin
Matt Amadio: Vocals. Drums, Percussion, Keys
Russell Langley: Bass

mp3 320 kbps | 77 MB | UL

Matt Nathanson – Still Waiting For Spring (1999)

B000QZT302Matt Nathanson’s latest release Still Waiting for Spring masterfully mixes youthful pop exuberance with singer/songwriter maturity. While Nathanson provides the acoustic styling on the album via his trademark 12-string guitar, a majority of the electric guitar, mandolin, and pedal steel came courtesy of David Immerglück of the Counting Crows. This collaboration proves fruitful, spawning the instantly likeable “Wings,” the playful but driven “Lucky Boy,” and the pop anthem “Answering Machine.” Nathanson often hides his despondent lyrics regarding the heartache of unhealthy relationships behind the upbeat nature of his music. However, he does open up and unveil his soulful side with “Everything You Say Sounds Like Gospel,” and delivers a striking duet with Ellen Turner on the standout ballad “Loud.” He closes the record with “Little Victories,” an acoustic ditty accentuated by the cello playing of Matt Fish, that lets us know that it’s the little things in life that matter. Still Waiting for Spring compiles a palatable collection of songs that plays well against any backdrop, and is a must for anyone who delights in the music of Howie Day, O.A.R., or Jason Mraz.

mp3 320 kbps | 67 MB | UL

Circle – Six Day Run (2013)

cirFinland’s ever-prolific experimental rock quartet Circle‘s new soundtrack album, Six Day Run, is out now on the Ektro label. Since 1991, the band has put out a steady number of riff heavy, Krautrock meets noise art LP’s, soundtracks, and live recordings. Case in point, in 2007 alone, these guys released three studio albums, three live albums, a 7″, as well as a couple re-issues. This time Circle has created a soundtrack for Six Day Run, a short film about an extreme sporting event held in New York where the participants run almost continuously for six days.

mp3 320 kbps | 66 MB | UL | CL

Bobby ‘Blue’ Bland – I Woke Up Screaming (2012)

BOThis is a 20-track import anthology of Bland’s earliest Duke sides from 1952-1957, at which point the Blues Consolidated album takes over.


01. I Woke up Screaming
02. No Blow, No Show
03. I Don’t Believe
04. I Learned My Lesson
05. It’s My Life, Baby
06. I Smell Trouble
07. Don’t Want No Woman
08. Teach Me (How to Love You)
09. You’ve Got Bad Intentions
10. You or None
11. Lovin’ Blues
12. I.O.U. Blues
13. Farther up the Road
14. Loan Me a Helping Hand
15. You Got Me (Where You Want Me)
16. Bobby’s Blues
17. Army Blues
18. I Can’t Put You Down Baby
19. Sometime Tomorrow
20. Time Out

mp3 320 kbps | 124 MB | UL | CL