Jason & The Nashwille Scorchers – Reckless Country Soul (1996)

jaIn 1981, as the legend goes, Jason Ringenberg left his daddy’s Illinois hog farm for the bright lights of Nashville and promptly stumbled upon guitarist Warner Hodges and bassist Jeff Johnson in a gutter. With drummer Perry Baggs, they became Jason and the Nashville Scorchers. The original Reckless Country Soul — a Hank Williams classic, a Jimmie Rodgers number and a pair of originals, all recorded live to 4-track and issued on a modest 7-inch by a local independent label — was clearly a formative work. The reissue — augmented by a leftover from the band’s first session, five outtakes from studio time later in ’82 and an unlisted bonus — is an entertaining snapshot of the boys rooting around for a style to call their own. In a wild and randy cover of Carl Perkins’ “Gone Gone Gone” and the ripsnorting medley of Kostas’ “I’d Rather Die Young” and George Morgan’s “Candy Kisses,” they stumble right into it.

mp3 320 kbps | 69 MB | UL

Chris Cagle – Icon (2013)


01. Country by the Grace of God
02. My Love Goes On and On
03. What A Beautiful Day
04. I Breathe In, I Breathe Out
05. Miss Me Baby
06. Wal-Mart Parking Lot
07. Laredo
08. What Kinda Gone
09. No Love Songs
10. My Life’s Been A Country Song
11. Chicks Dig It

mp3 320 kbps | 81 MB | UL | CL

The Dunwells – Follow The Road (2013)

DUNThe Dunwells are a British folk rock band formed in Leeds, Yorkshire, England in 2009. The group consists of Joseph Dunwell (vocals, guitar), David Dunwell (vocals, guitars, piano, banjo), Jonny Lamb (vocals, drums), Rob Clayton (bass, vocals), and Dave Hanson (lead guitar, vocals, pedal steel).

mp3 320 kbps | 102 MB | UL | CL

June & Lula – Yellow Leaves (2013)


01. Old Man Town
02. Naked Woman
03. Cursed Waltz
04. Silent Man
05. Revert to the Wild
06. Interlude de Suzanne
07. Billy
08. Clap Your Hands
09. Yellow Leaves
10. Near the Stars
11. No More
12. Flying Hat
13. Final de Suzanne
14. The Moon Who Talked to the Wind (Ode to Delphine)

mp3 320 kbps | 103 MB | UL | CL

Emma Hill – The Black and the Wretched Blue (2013)

EMAHill’s honey-smoked voice takes on a soulful growl in many of the numbers, and combined with the horns that periodically kick in to accompany the familiar guitar, banjo and pedal steel, it imparts a bit of a New Orleans vibe to many of the songs. There is still plenty of rootsy sensibility to Emma Hill’s music, but it is tinged with a soupcon of jazz.From the sultry swing of Crushin’ to the sweet sadness of The Arrow is Sharp, from the affectionate playfulness of Fallin’ For a Girl to the aching lilting cry of A Hundred Homes, Emma Hill shows a maturation that sees her stretching her wings into new musical territory. The Black and Wretched Blue is a nicely nuanced album, full of heartache and joy, that satisfies on many levels.

mp3 VBR~231 kbps | 74 MB | UL | CL

David Olney – Eye of the Storm (1996)

DAEvery once in a very long while, songwriters come along who become regarded as classic. The rivers of their many influences flow clear and clean through their work, but what comes out is something wholly original. Their songs sound at once timeless and fresh, with shimmers and shades from many influences flowing seamlessly into something new, something free of the fickle stamps of time and style. A perfect hybrid, a new breed unto itself. David Olney is one such writer, a defining if not definitive example of the contemporary folk-based singer-songwriter. For years, he has been a legend among his peers, revered for his keen craftsmanship, vivid emotional color, sweet sense of space and sturdy melodic grace.

mp3 320 kbps | 102 MB | UL

Judee Sill – Judee Sill (1971/ 2005)

juJudee Sill’s debut album (as well as the debut of the Asylum label) heralded a major new talent in the airy, contemporary folk world of the early ’70s. The album employed the production skills of Sill’s ex-husband Bob Harris, as well as ex-Turtle, ex-Leaves Jim Pons, and Graham Nash (on the album’s sole single, “Jesus Was s Crossmaker”). Judee Sill featured all original compositions, many of which relied on Sill’s own brand of cosmological Christian imagery to make their point. By turns spare and lavishly orchestrated, there is still a cohesive feel to all of the album; her lyrics are exceptionally poetic (to the point of being almost flowery) and her voice is smooth enough to bear heavy overdubbing with itself, giving every song a shimmery feel. The essence of the music is folk, the execution pop: the songs feel like a comfort blanket, a statement of hope from a troubled soul.

FLAC | 395 MB | UL | TB