The Coloradas – The Coloradas (2012)

colRoy Davis and the Dregs’ alt-country flavored Deadweight (2008) was one of those nuggets that make listening to all the “free” music worthwhile. Davis and company (some old and some new) shift gears on The Coloradas’ self-titled debut swerving into the bluegrass lane while retaining much of what initially made a fan. Davis is a talented songwriter with a voice that at times recalls Jeff Tweedy and (early pre-falsetto) Ryan Adams but The Coloradas is more of a band effort than Davis’ previous albums and might have more in common with Gillian Welch and David Rawlings’ take on rural music than the previous mentioned alt-country icons.  Frequent collaborator Bernie Nye handles lead vocals on several tracks including the questionably optimistic hardluck  “A Brand New Day”.

mp3 320 kbps | 95 MB | UL

The Wheel Workers – Past To Present (2013)

wThe Wheel Workers are an indie rock band from Houston, TX on ZenHill Records with progressive values.


1. Power 05:03
2. Past to Present 04:51
3. Chemicals 03:33
4. Starve the Beast 04:26
5. Older Now 03:10
6. Drone 04:49
7. Fine Time 04:14
8. Compromise 03:54
9. Animals 06:15
10. Rainbows 04:17
11. Somebody Else 03:46
12. Want 05:00

mp3 320 kbps | 127 MB | UL | CL

Ian McFeron Band – Fistfight With Father Time (2006)

IIn 2005 McFeron released his sophomore record, “A Long Way To Freedom.” McFeron is a lyrical singer/songwriter in the tradition of such folk greats as Bob Dylan and Paul Simon and such contemporary favorites as Ryan Adams and David Gray. McFeron (vocals, acoustic guitars, piano) is accompanied by the Texas Fiddle of Alisa Milner, the electric fingers of Tracy Goodsmith (electric guitar), and the back-beat rhythms of Todd VanSelus (bass) and Mark Bateman (drums). Much of the group’s rapid and steady ascent can be attributed to their unique sound- a blend of musical influences that range from acoustic rock to folk, from alt-country to gritty blues.

mp3 192 kbps | 69 MB | UL

Ian McNabb – Little Episodes (2012)

IANLittle Episodes is the ninth studio album from McNabb, in almost 20 years. There are very few artists in the UK who work as hard as McNabb, in terms of recording, or indeed performing. So, why is he so woefully undervalued? Aside from a handful of the most switched-on radio presenters (Long, Kershaw, Radcliffe, Maconie et al) the media at large don’t seem to have discovered his music.Although to his sizeable fan following, this seems to be part of the charm.Despite the immediacy, the craftsmanship and quality is all there, and McNabb’s trademark open-throated Scott Walker-esque vocal is in evidence throughout, particularly in opening track ”?Ancient Energy’, as well as political poke at the elite, ”?High On A Hill’.

mp3 320 kbps | 100 MB | UL | CL

The Fisticuffs -You ll Not Take Us Alive (2011)

The Fisticuffs are back with their third album “You’ll Not Take Us Alive”. Angrier than ever, a “show no mercy” attitude can be found all along the album, at least at first hearing.Some changes of personnel/guests have occurred between “Neatly Stumblin’” and “You’ll Not Take Us Alive”. Original bassist Brandon Simmons has been replaced by Neal Farrell. Ian Tully (whistle, bodhrán) who was a full member in “Bruised but not Beaten” and a guest in “Neatly Stumblin’” is no longer on board. And Shaina Sedder (guest vocals on the two previous albums) is not singing in “You’ll Not Take Us Alive”. However, the core of the band remains the same: Bobby Baldwin aggressive vocals, Dave Beneventi excellent mandolin playing and Arcadia Kust great fiddling.

mp3 VBR~287 kbps | 87 MB |UL