November 11, 2012 - It Rock And Roll

Day: November 11, 2012

A fresh approach to one of contemporary composition’s most iconoclastic and inventive figures, issued on the occasion of John Cage’s 100th birthday. Early Cage is the subject here, strikingly original songs and piano pieces from the 1930s and 1940s. Songs in which Cage sets words by writers whose vision was as independent as his own – James Joyce, Gertrude Stein, E. E. Cummings. As Paul Griffiths writes, “The music exists in singing that has a raw, living edge, and it exists in piano tone that can be utterly simple and utterly remarkable. There is also a third presence that of the producer, bringing forward the extraordinary resonances that come from Lubimov’s piano, with preparation or without.” Lubimov championed Cage’s work in Russia and later had a close working relationship with the composer. He grasps both the playfulness of the music and its message of freedom.

mp3 320 kbps | 167 MB | UL

Oakley Hall’s second album is an unencumbered affair that pulls the same trick as other sophomore-slump trumps– R.E.M.’s Reckoning, perhaps, or Talking Heads’ More Songs About Buildings And Food— by doing what the band does best, and doing it quickly. The record lacks the attention to detail that marked Oakley Hall’s self-titled debut, but it makes up the difference by distilling the band’s sound to its most engaging elements.The Hall are led by former Oneida guitarist Pat Sullivan (aka Papa Crazee), who applies his former band’s studied patience and fearless blending of genre to Oakley Hall’s rustic sound. Second Guessing revels in the clichés of country and stretches them, like a perpetual jam session that never loses its focus or energy. They’re the perfect antidote for dabbling rock fans who “only like real country, like Johnny Cash,” or a revelation to those who thought Neil Young’s “Down by the River” was too short.

mp3 192 kbps | 76 MB | UL | TB

The Notes and the Words features 75 of the rarities, demos and outtakes accompanying the officially released material on the original box set, including 17 early home recordings, the first known recording of Who Knows Where the Time Goes, take one of both Come All Ye and Matty Groves from the legendary Liege and Lief sessions, a demo of Lord Bateman, considered the Holy Grail of Denny’s recordings, together with many other goodies besides. In light of Thea Gilmore’s recent album of Denny’s unreleased and widely unknown songs, together with the short concert tour that went under the banner of The Lady: A Homage to Sandy Denny, featuring some of Denny’s collaborators such as Dave Swarbrick and Jerry Donoghue, as well as some of Denny’s more recent converts such as Joan Wasser, Blair Dunlop and Sam Carter, it’s rather nice to hear the lady herself once again, in what in some instances sounds even more intimate than before.

mp3 320 kbps | 701 MB | UL

  1. Dizzy Gillespie – Matrix
  2. The Eight Minutes – I Can’t Get No Higher
  3. Adam Wade & Johnny Pate – Brother (Title)
  4. J.J. Barnes – You Owe It To Yoursel
  5. Debbie Taylor – Too Sad To Tell
  6. Joe Thomas – Chitlins & Cuchifritos
  7. The Fatback Band – Njia (Nija) Walk
  8. Bartel – Naturally Good
  9. Madhouse – Get Some Of This
  10. Astrud Gilberto – Gingele
  11. The Albert – One Life
  12. Bobby Rydell – Honey Buns
  13. Black Ivory – You and I
  14. The Eight Minutes – Take My Love Don’t Set Me Free
  15. Wanda Robinson – Instant Replay
  16. Fatback Brother Bill Curtis – Dance Girl
  17. Bartel – Boogie
  18. Dizzie Gillespie – Alligator
  19. Black Ivory – I Keep Asking You Questions
  20. Julius Brockington – Rock Steady
  21. Tyrone Washington – Submission
  22. Joe Thomas – Every Brother Ain’t A Brother
  23. Bartel – You’ve Just Been Bitten
  24. Black Ivory – Surrender
  25. The Eight Minutes – Find The One Who Loves You
  26. Astrud Gilberto – Take It Easy My Brother Charlie
  27. James Moody – Heritage Hum
  28. J.J. Barnes – Wishful Thinking
  29. The Eight Minutes – Looking For A Brand New Game
  30. Wanda Robinson – A Possibility (Back Home)

mp3 VBR~247 kbps | 229 MB | UL | TB

This CD, issued under license from Vanguard by Italy’s Universe label (on their Comet imprint), is one of the handsomest re-releases of its kind ever to turn up on CD. The sound is fine — and it’s so hard to find an unworn copy of Ballad for Americans and Other American Ballads that anything would be welcome — but the producers have taken special care to re-create the original artwork and annotation in all of it thoroughness in a mini-LP-style gatefold CD package that’s neat, handsome, and respectful of the original release, and will probably last for decades on shelves. As for the music, the CD showcases four sides of Odetta’s work — her gifts in art-song and conceptual music in “Ballad for Americans,” her solo folk and blues singing in the accompanying studio sides, her way with an audience in a live setting with the Carnegie Hall tracks, with her singing in a choral setting on the final four tracks of that LP. It all sounds great, and could arguably be a best of Odetta, even if it isn’t an official anthology of that type. It’s just sort of a shame — and an enigma — that it takes an Italian-based label to give these recordings their due respect in the 21st century.

mp3 320 kbps | 217 MB | UL | TB

Michael Andrews is best known as a film composer whose credits
include Donnie Darko, Me and You and Everyone We Know, Cyrus,
Walk Hard, and Bridesmaids. He s also credited as a producer,
songwriter, or composer on more than 20 albums including those
for Metric, Brendan Benson, and Gary Jules as well as the guitarist
for The Greyboy Allstars. On his second solo album, using a palette
of sounds acquired from his cinematic projects, he explores the
paradigm shift of becoming a father with stories of blowing bubbles
from the inside, looking out through a warped, psychedelic lens.

mp3 VBR~227 kbps | 76 MB | UL

It Rock And Roll ©2017. All Rights Reserved.