August 28, 2012 - It Rock And Roll

Day: August 28, 2012

About ten years ago David Eugene Edwards’ new band Wovenhand (Woven Hand in the beginning) debuted with their self-titled album. His main band 16 Horsepower was still active at that time, but their three members – David Eugene, as well as Pascal Humbert (bass) and Jean-Yves Tolà (drums) were slowly drifting apart. Yet in the same year they still managed to release “Folklore” – a blistering album and their studio swansong. Long since has this former solo-project stepped out of 16 Horsepower’s long shadow.Wovenhand have just finished their 7th album – “The Laughing Stalk” – which represents the most radical change in the history of the band. After touring their last album “The Threshingfloor” long time collaborator Pascal Humbert left the band to move back to his native France. A turning point for David Eugene who reconsidered the basic music concept of the band and decided to break new ground. He kept drummer Ordy Garrison from the old line-up and recruited new members Chuck French (guitar) and Gregory Garcia JR. (Bass) resulting in the “most heavy incarnation” of the band ever. “Intense” was a word commonly used when describing the sound of the band. Especially on stage the last line-up was an incredible force, but the current band managed to transport this “heavyness” into the studio while losing nothing of its love for detail or delicate arrangements. That was accomplished by producer Alexander Hacke (Einstürzende Neubauten) who has created an intoxicating mix of guitars and other stringed instruments in the final mix.

mp3 160 kbps | 51 MB | UJ | UL


1. The Changeling (Alternate Version)
2. Love Her Madly (Alternate Version)
3. Cars Hiss By My Window (Alternate Version)
4. L.A. Woman (Alternate Version)
5. The WASP (Texas Radio And The Big Beat) (Alternate Version)
6. Been Down So Long (Alternate Version)
7. Riders On The Storm (Alternate Version)
8. She Smells So Nice / Rock Me

mp3 320 kbps | 130 MB | UJ | UL

Legendary recording artist and world-renowned guitar maestro Phil Keaggy has released The Cover of Love through Strobie Records today. The new CD features a collection of love songs by Keaggy’s favorite artists, including The Beach Boys, Paul McCartney, Elvis Presley and the Moody Blues, as well as a number of new songs co-written by Keaggy.

mp3 320 kbps | 115 MB | UJ | UL

This album is a less ambitious and unified set than his solo debut, but that’s to say that G.P. was a great album while Grievous Angel was instead a very, very good one. Much of the same band that played on his solo debut were brought back for this set, and they perform with the same effortless grace and authority (especially guitarist James Burton and fiddler Byron Berline). If Parsons was slowing down a bit as a songwriter, he still had plenty of gems on hand from more productive days, such as “Brass Buttons” and “Hickory Wind (which wasn’t really recorded live in Northern Quebec; that’s just Gram and the band ripping it up live in the studio, with a handful of friends whooping it up to create honky-tonk atmosphere). He also proved to be a shrewd judge of other folks material as always; Tom T. Hall’s “I Can’t Dance” is a strong barroom rocker, and everyone seems to be having a great time on The Louvin Brothers’s “Cash on the Barrelhead.” As a vocal duo, Parsons and Emmylou Harris only improved on this set, turning in a version of “Love Hurts” so quietly impassioned and delicately beautiful that it’s enough to make you forget Roy Orbison ever recorded it. And while he didn’t plan on it, Parsons could hardly have picked a better closing gesture than “In My Hour of Darkness.” Grievous Angel may not have been the finest work of his career, but one would be hard pressed to name an artist who made an album this strong only a few weeks before their death – or at any time of their life, for that matter.

mp3 320 kbps | 125 MB | UJ | UL


1. The World Has Changed
2. La Nouvelle-Orleans
3. Mr Voodoo
4. With My Baby By My Side
5. Finally, Someone I Can Dance With
6. Blue As a Rainbow
7. Death Came Walkin in My Room
8. Mama Mississippi
9. After the Storm
10. My Cup
11. Wednesday By the Sea
12. Riz Au Lait 13. Everybodys On the Mend Now

mp3 320 kbps | 116 MB | UJ | UL

Frank Gambale – guitar
Scott Henderson – guitar
Alex Acuna – percussion
Luis Conte – percussion
Eric Marienrhal – tenor, alto and soprano saxes
Mike Miller – guitar
James Hogan – guitar
Christian Fabian – bass
Mitch Forman – keyboards
Steve Hunt – keyboards
Lance Crane – drums

mp3 320 kbps | 155 MB | UJ | UL

Nanci Griffith’s 1978 debut for Philo is certainly not as consistent as her mid ’80s albums; however, it should not be overlooked by fans of introspective, personal story songs. “Alabama Soft Spoken Blues” may be her single most beautiful melody, with “Michael’s Song” and “West Texas Sun” not far behind. There’s an innocence and delicacy to Griffith’s voice, and she’s well served by producer Mike Williams’s acoustic colorings. These nine songs reveal Griffith’s beginnings, point to where she would venture, and satisfy through their luminous, lyrical grace.

mp3 256 kbps | 72 MB | UJ | UL

It Rock And Roll ©2017. All Rights Reserved.