June 9, 2012 - It Rock And Roll

Day: June 9, 2012

This release brings them together for the first time on CD, along with several recently written songs especially recorded for this collection. They touch on major concerns of the past decade: war, terrorism, the politics of identity, the unaccountable power of capital, all topped off with that rarest of cuts ‘ a Billy Bragg Christmas song.

Billy says ‘For much of the past 10 years, polemical songs have been met with indifference, but the times are changing and once again there is a need for songs with fight in them.’

mp3 320 kbps | 87 MB | DF

After an absence of 10 years, Elle Osborne is back with her second full-length album So Slowly Slowly Got She Up. The album features a top supporting cast including Alasdair Roberts, Cath and Phil Tyler and Alex Neilson of Trembling Bells.The album which consists mainly of traditional songs has a timeless authenticity, those strands of time that connect Elle to the folk singers she was raised amongst on the North Sea Coast of Lincolnshire feel very much alive as she conjures up ghost-like memories and pays homage to them. Barry Dransfield who encouraged Elle to accompany herself on fiddle from a young age describes it a delicately compelling recording combining subtle rootsy touches with an easy and natural originality.as a delicately compelling recording combining subtle rootsy touches with an easy and natural originality.So Slowly Slowly Got She Up is an epiphany not just in Elle’s career but in British folk music. It is by far one of the most beautiful re-interpretations of traditional folksong I have heard in a long time. Her choice in supporting artists is very visible throughout the album, from Alasdair Roberts signature guitar playing on the opening Bonnie George Campbell to the wonderful harmonies of Cath and phil Tyler on My Coffin Shall be Black.

mp3 320 kbps | 112 MB | DF

Merry Go Round is the new solo album from Bath based English singer/songwriter Jennifer Crook.She’s put together an amazing team to work on this collection, it starts with the production of Boo Hewerdine who brings his acoustic contemporary folk sensibilities to the fore with his gentle balance that shows the songs and arrangements in the best light.  He brings Jennifer’s vocals and lyrics to the fore, but still keeps detail in the backing and a real crispness to the overall sound – it’s the perfect balance for acoustic folk.The musicians providing the backing are some of the finest on the acoustic music scene, with Darrell Scott adding guitar, mandolin and dobro, Eddi Reader backing vocals, Andy May piano, and of course Boo provides a whole range of instrumentation across the disc.  It’s a first rate band, and the overall feeling is laid back, understated and relaxed; and that’s a perfect match for Jennifer’s vocals and lyrics.

mp3 256 kbps | 63 MB | DF

1. The Best Of Times
2. Too Much Time On My Hands
3. Babe
4. Boat On The River
5. Come Sail Away
6. Mr. Roboto
7. Fooling Yourself
8. Lady ’95
9. Crystal Ball
10. Renegade
11. Lorelei
12. Mademoiselle
13. Blue Collar Man (Long Nights)
14. Heavy Metal Poisoning
15. Shooz
16. Snowblind
17. Show Me The Way
18. A.D. 1928
19. Rockin’ The Paradise

mp3 320 kbps | 185 MB | DF

It Rock And Roll ©2017. All Rights Reserved.